MySide Search
MySide Site Logo
Home » Campus Offices » Student Research » Palmer Student Research Symposium

Palmer Student Research Symposium

Last updated April 04, 2019

The 16th Annual Morningside College Palmer Student Research Symposium will be held April 10th, 2019. This event is a campus-wide celebration of student involvement in research. Students can present research, both empirical and non-empirical, completed in a class or completed as an independent project under faculty supervision. Students can request an oral presentation, a poster demonstration, or a panel discussion. Oral and poster presentations will be judged in similar categories. Students have the option of submitting fall and/or spring projects during the open submission period.

The 2019 program can be found here

A list of winners can be found here


Palmer 2019 Keynote Speaker

Dr. Rose Krial-Victor

"The Reach of the Research Experience"

Dr. Krial-Victor earned her Bachelor’s of Science in psychology, mentored by Dr. Bill Deeds, at Moravian College, then went on to receive her PhD in experimental psychology at New York University, specializing in learning and behavior, and continuing her love of physiological psychology with crossover coursework in NYU’s Center for Neural Science.   This led to a special interest in neuropharmacology and eventually seeking a career in the pharmaceutical industry. 

 For over 20 years, Dr. Krial-Victor has been a qualitative medical market researcher, interviewing physicians, nurses, and patients to gather perceptions about use of various pharmaceutical and biotechnology products in the treatment of many medical conditions.  Dr. Krial-Victor has directed research serving pharmaceutical companies’ needs to learn about opportunity assessment for new products, understanding patient and physician decision making during all stages of the diagnostic and treatment process, developing advertizing and communications materials for patients and physicians, and assessing effectiveness of communications in use.  Her forté became projects requiring understanding of the molecular cascade of events in complex, technical treatment areas, including a recent focus in oncology.


Palmer 2019 Student Committee

Co-chairs: Maddie Dotzler (Social and Behavioral Science) and Jessy Huff (Biology and Biopsychology)

Submission and Presentation Coordinators: Alex Homan (Biology and Psychology) and Kelsey Diggins (Nursing)

Publicity Coordinator: Tessa Renze (Social and Behavioral Science)

Facilities and Media Coordinator: Kali Hill (Nursing)

Volunteer and Judge Coordinators: Dylan Armstrong (Business) and Abby Koch (Mass Communications and Graphic Design)

Editing: Elizabeth Roop (English and History)

WITCC Coordinator: Bill Clifford


Palmer Advisors

Jessica LaPaglia


.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Kari Varner


.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)